Board of Trustees

Officers and Trustees

The Adler Planetarium Board of Trustees is a diverse team of corporate, philanthropic, civic, and academic leaders who help the Adler fulfill its role as one of the world’s leading science education and space exploration institutions. As members of the museum’s governing body, Trustees set and oversee Adler plans and policies, serve as ambassadors to the larger community, secure support for programs, and are primary stewards of the Adler’s finances and museum collections.

A Message from the Board Chair, Scott C. Swanson
and President & CEO, Michelle B. Larson

Michelle L. and Scott S. 2015

At the Adler, we are committed to nurturing exploration through fun, dynamic, hands-on science experiences. Through the centuries-old artifacts in our collections, frontier technologies in citizen science, and everything in between, the Adler is dedicated to #Science4Everyone: finding new ways to make science accessible to the public—regardless of age, interest, or abilities.

The Adler is more than a museum—it is a laboratory, a classroom, and a community. We believe in #AstroEverywhere—celebrating astronomy and space science within our museum walls and beyond. That’s why we are bringing Adler scientists to your neighborhood through programs like ‘Scopes in the City. This year, we planned over 20 observing events by partnering with Chicago libraries, schools, parks, and churches to bring the museum—and the Universe—a little closer to home.

So, without further ado, #LetsDoScience! At the Adler, every day is a new opportunity to wonder about the Universe, observe objects in our Solar System, or discover something new about our planet. Adler sky shows like Destination Solar System and One World One Sky combine real images of space with approachable dialogue to send you on an interactive, immersive space adventure. And, our very own Doane Observatory is open daily. So what are you waiting for? Come join us in exploring space!

We hope to see you soon at America’s First Planetarium.

Scott C. Swanson                                                                     Michelle B. Larson, PhD


Scott C. Swanson, Chair
Darrel Hackett, Vice Chair
Lamar A. Johnson, AIA, Vice Chair
Pradip K. Patiath, Vice Chair
Barbara L. Stewart, Secretary
Jonathan H. Herbst, Treasurer
Michelle B. Larson, Ph.D., President and CEO

Elected Trustees

Cynthia L. Ballew
Raj Bhatia
Amy L. Carbone
David A. Carlquist
Daniel P. Cooney
Bryan C. Cressey
David A. Crown, PhD
Howard L. Ecker
Daniel R. Eder
John W. Estey
Ryan Garino
Robert N. Gordon
William J. Gruber
Raj P. Gupta, PE
Darrel Hackett
Kathy H. Hannan
Bernard L. Hengesbaugh
Jonathan H. Herbst
Seth E. Jacobson
Stefan C. James
Lamar A. Johnson, AIA
Linda P. Jojo
Lisa H. Lewis
Phyllis Lockett
Steven S. Louis, MD
Captain James A. Lovell, Jr.
William J. Lutz
Brooke MacLean
Fidel Marquez, Jr.
Maryann N. McNally
Andrew J. Mills
Daniel T. Mueller
Thomas A. Nardi
James J. O’Connor, Jr.
Duncan J. Palmer
John J. Paro
Pradip K. Patiath
Dushan Petrovich
Ian C. Radomski
Jeffrey S. Rothstein
Nancy Ruscheinski
Matthew F. Sauer
Michael Seedman
Gurpreet Singh
Donna N. Smith
Kecia Steelman
Paul D. Steinberg
Barbara L. Stewart
Scott C. Swanson
Anthony L. Toulouse

Life Trustees

Carolyn Doane Bowman
Linda I. Celesia
Donald C. Clark, Jr.
Frank M. Clark
Earle M. Combs III
J. Douglas Donenfeld
Michel J. Feldman
David W. Fox, Sr.
Howard S. Goss
Imogene Powers Johnson
David Mintzer, Ph.D.
Kenneth Nebenzahl
James J. O’Connor, Sr.
Irene S. Phelps
Harold Byron Smith
Peter O. Vandervoort, Ph.D.
Jay N. Whipple, Jr.
Edward J. Williams

Ex-Officio Trustees

John E. Carlstrom, Ph.D.
The University of Chicago

The Honorable Rahm Emanuel
Mayor, City of Chicago

Nancy Emrich Freeman
Co-Chair, Adler Planetarium Friends of the Webster Institute

Linda I. Gerstman
President Adler Planetarium Women’s Board

Michael P. Kelly
General Superintendent/CEO, Chicago Park District

Edward W. Kolb, Ph.D.
The University of Chicago

Michelle B. Larson, Ph.D.
President/Chief Executive Officer, Adler Planetarium

Penelope L. Peterson, Ph.D.
Northwestern University

The Honorable Bruce Rauner
Governor, State of Illinois

Sean B. Reynolds
Northwestern University

Jesse H. Ruiz
President, Chicago Park District Board of Commissioners